As mentioned, the first question for the new Q&A segment of this blog is “What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?”

images

Now, this is a hard question.  A very, very hard question, in fact, because there are so many possible answers that would be completely valid and even good.

It’s easy to say you’d like world peace, but the fact is, world peace will never exist (unless we’re all infected by alien parasites, of course), and logically, it probably shouldn’t.  Now, hear me out here: I’m not saying I think war, death and adversity are omgsoawesome; I just think that if we had a ‘perfect’ world, not only would we most likely be bored, but we’d also never learn anything, feel the push to be better than we are, or have reason to feel the great sense of pride that comes with doing or being involved with something that we believe in (and pride in ourselves, our families and our countries can drive us to do greater things than we could ever have imagined).  Well, maybe never is too strong a word, but I do think there’s a lot to be said for feeling empathy for others in their situations, fighting for/defending your freedoms and the causes you believe in (and thereby learning what is and is not important to you, and where you morally stand on issues), and giving of yourself for others.

Also, world peace would require that everyone have equal access to money, housing, jobs, etc., so that there would be no strife over those issues, and that creates a whole slew of other problems that would have to be dealt with, which would, in the end, leave us in the same position we’re in now, because it’s quite simply not sustainable.  Though I guess changing the world so that it was sustainable would be nice, if that was possible.

Curing disease and illness is also a good idea, but the downfall in doing that lies in the fact that if everyone was completely healthy all the time, we quite simply would not be able to keep our population under control.  I know, it sounds cruel, but we do require a certain amount of illness and death to deplete the population enough that our world can support the babies we keep having without eating up all our resources.  The same goes for solving world hunger, to some degree, but still, making sure everyone on earth has enough to eat would certainly be on the list of contenders here.

So death is necessary, as I just pointed out, but why not make it less painful?  Also a good one.  Add that to the list, too.  And while we’re at it, why not make life less painful?  It certainly isn’t easy.  I guess my choice is somewhere along those lines.

Those who work hard and help others, those who bring joy and humor to the people around them, those that are the change we need to see in the world…those people should not have to suffer depression, chronic illness, pain, financial hardship, etc., when they are really trying to be and do better than what they are, and make life happier for those around them.  I know so many wonderful people who keep getting beaten down by life when they have done nothing but try to help their friends and family, and survive, yet I know others who take advantage of the people around them at every turn, abuse their partners, take everything they’ve got for granted, and have life, money, jobs, good health, etc. all handed to them on a silver platter.  Say what you like, but it is not fair, and life should not work that way.  There should at least be some payoff for those good people in the end, and some consequence for those that take advantage of or treat others badly.

tumblr_mosl56qZ231qmm1jno1_400

I certainly don’t think life should be 100% perfect or easy for anyone, no matter how good a person they are, because as I said before, adversity makes us grow, and I do believe that these people are better people because they’ve had to overcome.  But if I could change one thing in the world, it would be that those people would not die young, and would be rewarded with a happy life when all is said and done, and the ‘bad people’ would need to face what they’ve done and live with less because of the pain they caused.  I would make life fair, as much as it possibly could be.

This made more sense to me before I started typing it. I don’t feel like the words came out right at all.  If I’ve offended anyone, I’m sorry; it was not intentional.  I had another whole section about bad people vs. good people, and how much I hate that good, happy, inspiring children/people die of things like leukemia, abuse, etc., but I cut that out, because I thought it seemed like too much.

Maybe I should have just gone with solving world hunger or making everyone equal.  Yeah, I probably should have done that.  Hopefully my next answer will be better.

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please don’t let my disjointed answer stop you from giving your own in the comments! 🙂

(Next question: “What do you want most right now?”)

