Question number four for the Q&A section is: “What was the warmest welcome you ever received?”

I had to think hard about this one, because I felt like the answer should be a family member, my son, or returning after a trip or long absence from someone…but sadly, none of those are the case.  My son has given me some warm welcomes, for sure, whether it was just a super bright smile upon seeing my face when he was still too young to talk, or running at me with an excited “Mommy!” and a huge hug like he does sometimes now, especially when I pick him up from daycare, but while those moments are beautiful and I’ll cherish them forever (and miss them when he’s too old to do it anymore), I suppose a part of me knows that that’s just something kids do.  I don’t know if that makes any sense, and if it sounds ungrateful, it shouldn’t, because that is not the case…but every child is excited to see their mother after an absence, especially little boys, and especially if they’re especially attached.   So I guess it just doesn’t really feel like it “counts”.

Still cute, though.

Still cute, though.

So what was the warmest welcome I ever received, that was not from my son?  Well, there were two, and they absolutely shine out in my memories.  I know they would bother some people, for reasons that I won’t disclose here, but to those people I’ll say this: I really, sincerely tried to think of another welcome that rivalled these, but there isn’t one, and though I understand why you don’t want me to hold onto positive memories of this person, I always will.  He gave me some of the most beautiful memories of my life, and sometimes I don’t know where I’d be without those.  So…

deal

By this point, anyone who would take issue with this (or even anyone who wouldn’t but just knows me especially well) knows exactly who I’m talking about,  and even those of you who don’t have probably figured out by now that he was an ex-boyfriend, which is the truth.  I dated him way back in 2006, and the first of these “warmest welcomes” occurred on one of our first few dates.  I think it was the third, but I’m not 100% sure; all I remember is coming outside to meet him and seeing him standing by his car, with the biggest grin on his face.  He ran up to me, threw his arms around me and lifted me up into the air, told me he’d been waiting for ‘this’ for years (he’d apparently had a crush on me in high school when we met, but I had no idea – we didn’t start dating until he found me on MSN 4 years later), told me I was beautiful, and gave me the most loving kiss I’ve probably ever had.

The second time was when he picked me up from work one night.  I worked the back-shift, so he picked me up when he could so I wouldn’t have to walk through the city in the middle of the night, but he was only in town a couple of nights a week, because he lived and worked about an hour away.  I walked out the door with a few co-workers, and was surprised to see him running toward me, that same huge grin on his face.  We’d been dating for a few months by this point, yet again he ran up to me, threw his arms around me, and lifted me up into the air…but this time, he held me tight and spun me around, telling me he loved me as he did it.  When he finished spinning, he just held me up there, looking up at me, smiling.

I worked in the middle of downtown, so there were plenty of people around, heading home from the bars, and they all stopped to watch us.  One of my co-workers commented on how adorable we were, and said it was “like a movie moment”.  He told her that they always were with me, lowered me down, gave me a huge hug and kiss, and then took my hand and off we ran to his car.  It was like a movie moment, and he was right; so many moments with him were like that.

smile

I don’t think I’ve ever felt more loved than I did in that moment, when he was willing to just bare it all to the world, and he looked so happy.  I miss that.  I could use some warm welcomes again.

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(The next question has two parts, so I think I’ll do one part on Saturday and the other on Sunday.  The questions are: “What was the best thing about your youth?  What was the worst?”)

