The thirty-first question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “Who is the person you know with the purest soul?”

Purest?  Well, I guess the ‘obvious’ answer here would be my son, because he’s still just a child, and he’s pretty damn perfect on top of that…but I feel like that’s a cop out, so I’m going to talk about someone else, as well.  My grandfather, on my father’s side, who passed away many years ago.  Papa.

Papa was the gentlest, kindest, most soft spoken man you could ever imagine.  He was very shy, and because of that, he always wore a shy little smile, that made him just about the most adorable person that could ever exist.  He had a phenomenal singing voice and was very talented at playing piano, but unless you attended his church choir, it was rare to hear any of that, due to his shyness and the fact that he put his children and grandchildren first; if they were present, he felt that they should be playing the piano, not him.  And no matter how badly they played, he would just sit and listen, smiling as though it was the most beautiful thing he had ever heard.

After he died, many people felt that when they entered the rooms where he’d once slept, they could still feel him there.  His soul permeated everything, and it was the most beautiful, light, safe feeling in the world to stand where he had once stood, just as it was to stand near him in life.  When I was pregnant, I wished that my son would be the reincarnation of my grandfather, and sometimes, I think maybe he is.  I hope so, anyway.  I’d like to know that a soul as wonderful and pure as his continues to live on in this world.

So, though I have not really gone into any detail as to why I feel that his soul was the purest, as that is personal, I do believe that he is the answer here.  I hope that counts, despite the fact that he’s no longer living.

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “Who is the person most loyal to you?”)

