The thirty-third question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “Who made the strongest first impression on you?”

I spent a long time trying desperately to find another answer to this question so that I wouldn’t have to give the one I’m going to give, but if I’m going with the honest answer, this has to be it.  The person who made the strongest first impression on me was my most recent ex-boyfriend.  We met through a virus email; I’m not sure how the email got passed from him to me, but it did, so I responded to him letting him know he was sending out virus emails, because I figured if I was in his position, I’d want to know so I could stop it.  He responded in an adorable, hugely nerdy way, and from there, we talked over email for hours, and by the end of it, I already had feelings for him.  I knew very little about him, but there was just…something about him.  In one night, in one string of emails, I was falling for him.

Eventually, after more talk online, we met in person, and I can remember clearly the first time I saw him from across the room.  He walked in, and I felt myself hoping beyond hope that it was him that I was there to meet, and when he made eye contact with me, I just…knew.  I’m not sure why, but after that first date, I somehow convinced myself that it would be the only date we’d ever have…but not a half hour after it, there was a text from him, telling me how much he wanted another date.  And that second date was the single greatest experience of my entire life.  It is my absolute favourite memory.

After that, we were together for over three years, ending only a month ago, to my complete and utter heartbreak.  The impression he made on me throughout those first few emails, and certainly the impression he made on me when I spent time with him in person, never died.  I loved him fiercely, and whenever we’d be near one another, I felt almost magnetized to him.  It always felt like near him was where I was supposed to be.  3 years into the relationship, and we could still fool people into thinking we were in the ‘honeymoon period’ of our relationship, because we were so close, especially in public.  People loved us together.  We were just…right. And even after the breakup, that hasn’t changed.  I don’t think it ever will.

So, he made the strongest first impression on me, by far, and I’m not sure the feelings I had when I met him will ever truly fade.  My soul connected to his when we met, and I don’t think that that sort of bond can ever be broken, no matter what may happen in either of our futures.  I miss the feeling I got when I was close to him.  I miss looking at him and wondering how it could possibly be that after so long, I could still feel the same as I did on day one.  I miss his smile, his warmth, and his touch.  I miss his love.

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What turned out to be the most useful course you ever took in school?”)

