The fifty-third question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “Who in life have you felt the strongest need to protect?”

You know, I feel like I should be answering this question with “my son”, but when I really think about it, I’m not sure that’s an accurate answer.  Of course I feel the need to protect my son; he’s only 4, after all, and he’s a bit of a daredevil…but apart from some situations that have involved him and other people in his life in the past, there has not actually been a whole lot I’ve had to protect him from.  He’s had health issues, but nothing that I could really do anything about or that required extra care from me to any great degree, and the rest has largely been quite easy…so either he hasn’t really required much protection from me over the years, or it’s just so natural to me to do that for him that I don’t even notice it enough to feel that I have. So I can’t really say it’s been him.

That being the case, I think I’d have to say that the person I’ve felt the strongest need to protect was my ex boyfriend.  He had some pretty bad health problems, so I spent most of my free time researching potential causes and solutions and trying to make things better/easier/healthier for him, while at the same time trying to make his life less stressful and protecting him from the criticism and abuse he was receiving from some of his coworkers..as well as the criticism he was receiving from some people in his personal life, as well.  I defended him even though I shouldn’t have, a lot of times, and whenever I was around him I felt like I had to encase him in some kind of protective shell so he would have a chance to relax, recover and heal from the bad things that he was going through and had gone through in the past.  In the end, obviously, I wasn’t able to ‘save’ him, but I have to hope that what I did do to protect him in the time we were together helped to at least some degree.  It was a rough road, but I liked being able to keep him safe, and give him some measure of happiness when everything else was falling apart.  I like to protect.  It’s kind of weird not having to anymore.

large

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What would you most like to be remembered for after you die?”)

