The fifty-sixth question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “What is the strictest a parent should be?”

I’m not really sure how to answer this question, because I think it’s entirely based on the situation.  I mean, some kids require their parents to be stricter to them in order to enforce the same lessons that other kids would learn without strict guidelines, and it also depends on the severity of the situation; like I think if a parent is being strict with their child about something that could potentially be harmful to themselves or someone else, it’s much more acceptable than if they are being strict about something that is relatively unimportant (or something where the punishment is not in balance with the misdeed). I feel like I’m explaining this horribly, but for some reason I just can’t seem to find the right words to say what I want to say today…so I apologize for that.

tumblr_mavlta5Qr21qbnvdao1_500

In general, though, I definitely do think there are situations in which it is necessary to be fairly strict with your child, but I’m not sure I can comment on exactly how strict a parent should be.  Is this asking if I think it’s okay to spank a child?  Because in some situations, yes, I do.  Luckily I haven’t had to, but I do think it’s something that the current generation could have done with a bit more of. 😛 Obviously, it’s never okay to beat a child, or punish them in a way that is demeaning or otherwise abusive, and I do think that in general, yelling is not as useful as some parents might hope it would be…but a stern voice, setting down strict guidelines in situations where it is actually in the child’s best interest to do so, and things like that, I think can be acceptable, as long as the parent is fully aware of what they are doing and the impact they are having on their child.  It’s all about paying attention, I guess.  I don’t know.  I still feel like I’m not making this very coherent, so I’m just going to stop now.

tumblr_inline_moelz21PaO1qz4rgp

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What is the hardest thing about love?”)

