The sixty-sixth question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “What is your strongest argument against capital punishment?”

This is one of those questions I somewhat fear answering because of the debate it inevitably sparks, but it seems this is probably a safer place to do that, so I’ll go ahead with it.  I’m not going to put a lot of thought into this question though, just go with what comes to mind first, so forgive me if it’s not the most well thought out or comprehensive answer.

Okay, so firstly, I would say I’m not necessarily against capital punishment. I’m not sure I really agree with the way it comes about all the time, or the methods used, but I can’t say I am really opposed to it as a concept.  Sometimes I think it’s the only sensible way to end things.  That being said, I do think it’s problematic in that you can’t always be 100% sure that the individual you are punishing is, in fact, the individual who committed the crime, and it’s a pretty permanent decision to make, so if mistakes are made, innocent people could be killed…which is just not okay at all.  Also, sometimes I feel that the methods used for capital punishment are not fitting for the crime, but I don’t think I’m going to go into any more detail on that today, because it kind of makes me look like a horrible person, so we’ll just stick with the answer I already gave, I think.  I was going to go on more but honestly, I just don’t really have it in me right now. So there you have it; pretty much a cop out answer. I’m sorry I’ve been sucking at these lately, and the next doesn’t seem as though it’ll be any better.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-6606-1376527348-7

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What have you done to most qualify you as a white-collar criminal?”)

