The eighty-second question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “What is the poorest you’ve ever been?”

Well, I guess the poorest I’ve ever been would technically be when I was living off of student loans, with no actual income, so all of my ‘money’ was debt…but because that feels like a cop-out answer, I’m going to say it was with my last boyfriend, in the first 2.5 years of our relationship.  He moved in with me only a few months into our relationship, because he had nowhere else to go (he was living with someone, but the house was a sty and he couldn’t afford the rent), and a few months later, he began attending school.  Because of the hours he had to put in at school, he couldn’t work much (and in his second year, he couldn’t work at all), so in order to support myself, him and my young son, I had to work 16 hours a day just to get by (and pay down loans he had). If I worked any less than that, we would have risked going into debt, so it was pretty much constant work on both our parts (in one way or another), just to squeak by.

So that’s probably when I was at my poorest, legitimately, which I have to say I am rather grateful for, because it certainly could have been much worse. I hope I am never that poor – and definitely hope I am never worse off than that – again.

tumblr_m73j5tzZOo1r89qoso1_500

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What have you been most ignorant about in your life?”)

