The eighty-sixth question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “What have you been most naive about?”

This is another of those questions that I feel like I should have a different and/or better answer for, but because I can’t think of what that answer should be, I’m going to go with the answer that came to mind first: My relationships. Not all of them, but most, unfortunately, and most certainly the last one. I have overlooked some major things, in the past, in the hopes that a relationship would work out in the end, and I’ve allowed people to treat me in some pretty horrible ways because I thought they loved me.

I feel really stupid when I look back on all of it now, because it’s so easy to see how I was being used, manipulated and lied to, but at the time, I was just so sure that these people loved me, that they wanted the same things I did and we were working together to get there, and that all the problems were mine, and if I was just better, everything would be okay. So yeah, pretty damn naive and blinded.

zVNWpRq

I feel like I could (and perhaps should) go into more detail, but really, what it comes down to is that if people do the right things, I seem to believe they love me no matter how poorly they treat me…and now, when someone is finally treating me right, it’s hard for me to wrap my head around how he could actually love me. Fun times all around! 😛 I think that’s enough for now.

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What is the most interesting kind of life to lead?”)

