The ninety-sixth question for the Q&A section of this blog is: “Who is the person you’d most like to take revenge on?”

To be honest, no one. There is definitely a list of people that I could (and some would argue should) feel this way about, but you know, when I’m being honest with myself and everyone else, I don’t actually have any real desire to take revenge on anyone. I do think there are some people who deserve to be punished for their actions and the way they have treated other people, but I don’t think that I should be the one to do that punishing, and really, when it comes right down to it, I would prefer that those people recognize what they’ve done to others, learn and change as a result, and then make right the wrongs they’ve done as best they can, instead of being hurt themselves.

tumblr_m7w77iiZ6E1rsm2tu

Now, I am well aware that in some cases, that is absolutely impossible. There are some people who, for one reason or another (but usually due to mental issues), will never be able to see themselves as they truly are, and therefore will never (at least fully) realize the harm they’ve caused and continue to cause through their actions, so I know I should be vengeful toward those people for how they’ve hurt me and those I care about…but I still can’t bring myself to feel that way. I just really wish, and will always hope, that they are able to see the truth someday. If that has to happen through suffering on their part, fine; I do accept that sometimes there is no other way to learn a lesson like that…but I still don’t prefer it.

I’m not sure I would have felt this way even a couple of months ago, if I’d been asked this question; I feel like before, I certainly would have been able to think of at least one person I’d like to get revenge on for how they have treated people I care about…but I really, honestly, do not feel that way anymore. Not even about the person some would say I should feel that way about most. I don’t know what changed, and I’m not sure whether this is a change for the good or the bad, but…even the person I’m thinking of, if I could have anything happen to them right now, I would want them to heal. I would want them to find mental clarity, to see what they’ve done and really acknowledge the hurt they’ve caused, and then to do something about it.

tumblr_n288a5Bt6o1sxg8m0o1_500

Again, I do realize that that’s most likely impossible, and maybe I’m just becoming more and more naive as I get older, but try as I might, I can’t bring myself to wish revenge on anyone anymore. It’s just not in me now.

Check out Mike’s answer at http://emptystress.wordpress.com, and please feel free to post your own in the comments! :)

(Next question: “What part of your day-to-day life requires the most patience?”)

